what's happening with Taylor Swift
Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift Releases New Double Album ‘The Tortured Poets Department’

Taylor Swift has just dropped a huge new double album called The Tortured Poets Department, which includes a total of 31(!) songs. This big release started with her 11th studio album appearing unexpectedly early on Apple Music today. Later at 2 a.m. EDT, she surprised everyone by releasing another 15 songs under the title The Tortured Poets Department: The Anthology.

“It’s a 2am surprise: The Tortured Poets Department is a secret DOUBLE album. ✌️ I’d written so much tortured poetry in the past 2 years and wanted to share it all with you, so here’s the second installment of TTPD: The Anthology. 15 extra songs. And now the story isn’t mine anymore… it’s all yours. 🤍“, she wrote on her Instagram page.

Taylor Swift shared on her Instagram that this album represents important but brief moments in her life that are now past. She talks about moving on from these times and finding peace.

The album also features special songs with other artists. The song Florida!!! is sung with Florence + the Machine, and Fortnight features Post Malone, making these tracks especially interesting. The music video for Fortnight will be released at 8 p.m. EDT today.

This album release comes during Swift’s big Eras Tour and follows some recent wins at the Grammy Awards, where she announced the record. The album is already setting records for the most saved album in advance on Spotify.

Check out the new album below and let us know what you think!

author avatar
Eva van den Bosch Head Editor, Photographer
Eva van den Bosch combines concert photography with a prominent editorial role at Strife Mag.